RSS

Echo’s Journal Entry #7

12 Nov

If this is your first time reading Echo’s Journal, please go back and read previous entries so you’ll understand the story. Thank you for stopping by and reading.

ECHO'S JOURNAL COVER

 

Journal Entry #7

Fear, anger, frustration, disappointment, and sadness spun inside me as if being mixed by a blender on high speed. I couldn’t distinguish one emotion from the other. Crying wouldn’t help my situation. Stomping my feet would be useless. Kicking some ass might make me feel better, but who am I kidding? That wasn’t my style.

When I learned the truth, my world not only crumbled, it was stomped upon by the people I thought cared about me. That was the biggest joke of the situation. No one was concerned with my well-being. Maybe if my mother lived, she would have cared. I’ll never know.

I’ll remember that day for eternity. I knew that’s how long I’d truly be alone without anyone I could trust. To this day, I question how I could have missed the signs. False words believed as truths, seemingly innocent actions with a hidden agenda, and ignored instincts contributed to the direction my life would take. Of course, it was out of my control.

When I heard the arguing, I should have walked away. But I recognized the female voice and she might have needed me. Rowan’s anger was felt throughout the camp as the two coteries gathered. A red haze created by the setting sun surrounded us.

Gregory, Sarah, and I had returned from camp a short while ago. I’d learned so much from my time with them, one of the most important was controlling my feelings toward Gregory. It became increasingly easier to be around him without a constant swirl of mixed emotions.

I always came back first. They took a different route that was longer. We thought we covered our tracks well. But my father must have discovered that I’d been spending time with them. As the argument continued, I quickly learned there was much more to it.

“You’re worse than a liar, you’re a traitor to our kind,” my father bellowed. “What you’ve done is sedition. Do you know what the consequences of your actions are?”

She laughed. Whoa, not good! Sarah is brave, cunning, and strong. But to laugh in my father’s face when he was that angry was suicide. It wasn’t the first time I feared for my friend, but I surely thought it was going to be the last.

“You’ve broken too many rules. Her mere existence and how your coterie has responded to your actions is sedition. Not to mention your lack of educating a new member of your coterie. We’ve been collecting evidence. We have grounds to depose you.”

Their words didn’t make sense. Our settlement was tense since Gregory joined us, but our groups still worked together. This was part of my problem. I chose to see good where there was nothing but deception.

My father informed Sarah he’d been collecting evidence as well.

“You were the one who changed Gregory. You knew what would happen when you took Echo out that night. It was all part of your plan,” he said.

“I suppose you have proof of these accusations,” Sarah countered.

Drake stood silent besides Sarah. One thing I was taught was that only the leader of a coterie should question the doyen. This was another rule she broke. Maybe she was guilty of what my father was saying.

“You’re not as clever as you think,” Rowan said. “I’ve known who you are since you’ve arrived and infiltrated our camp. We let you think we were joined. I like to keep my enemies very close.”

My father’s dark eyes met mine.

“I guess we shouldn’t keep it from my daughter any longer. Would you like to tell her who you are or should I?”

 

free_145045[1]

 I would love any comments or suggestions for the story if you’d like to contribute your ideas. Thank you for reading and I hope you’ll continue to follow Echo’s journey. 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Talk Turner To Me

A blog about culture, writing, and media.

Zenkatwrites's Blog

Musings from an Artist + Writer

Aminelle Nali - Splendiferous Doses of Happiness

...changing lives one word at a time! =)

Craig Lumen

Characters

Peace be upon you!

Those whose lives the angels take in a state of goodness. They will say to them, ‘Peace be upon you. Enter the Garden as a reward for what you have done.’

Comics Grinder

comics, pop culture and related topics

Bruitt Up

I want my life to be composed of first times

Story Treasury

A treasure box of stories!

Musings From a Ragged Soul

Seeking happiness one step at a time

Mark Bialczak

What will I write about next?

justbadtiming

life as i know it

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

AIKIDO-NO-SEKAI

Non-violence. Talking Peace. Everything Aikido.

Levi's Daily Thoughts

For I know that my Redeemer lives Job 19:25

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

William the butler

Serving drinks since 1985

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

